Gibberish

by

Finished up the web page translating work. When the prefectural government posts it, I’ll have to include a link… along with a few caveats about limitations of the work.

Still working on my speech for Sunday’s contest. I need to add a few more points, but the speech is already over the five minute limit, so I’ll be trimming and re-writing a bit tomorrow afternoon and Saturday.

So, here’s a little filler for today. On Monday, when I made the rounds to deliver akafuku (赤福) to my friends’ restaurants, I picked up a few new phrases. The best by far was chinpunkanpun (珍紛漢紛) which means ‘gibberish’. Note that I put it in kanji here, but people usually just write it out in katakana as チンプンカンプン, so they pretty much don’t know the kanji for it.

4 Responses to “Gibberish”

  1. verbivore Says:

    Very fun word! I had to get my Nelson out to look up the meaning of the kanji.

  2. びっくり Says:

    Yeah, the first one is “rare”, the second and fourth are “blind luck”, the third is the ‘kan’ in kanji, which normally refers to the Han dynasty. Not sure why it is in this jukugo. The fact that people usually write the word in katakana, implies that they might have just picked the characters match the sounds. No energy to study deeper than that right now.

    Do you have the Compact Nelson or the big, bad, hard cover? I have the paperback. Occasionally I wish I could look up more characters, but my electronic dictionary and a website do the trick in that case.

  3. verbivore Says:

    I have the big, bad hardcover and I love it. I don’t think I could live without it these days. By the way, did you go and look at the Wordchamp site that Classical Bookworm linked to. They have a cool text reader for reading websites in Japanese. I suspect you already read quickly but I thought it was very cool. I also use the online Lexilogos dictionary, I think their database is very thorough.

  4. びっくり Says:

    I’ll have to check out the text reader. It could be a handy learning tool; I could read along and listen to the reader when I stumble.

Leave a Reply

