Still Kicking

by

Yes, I’m still alive. This week is insanely busy, so my posting is pressured.

I am trying to finalize the website translation work by the end of Thursday. Friday is the deadline, but I teach in the morning at the elementary school. I don’t want to drop it in their lap at the last minute, even though we have been told we can ask for an extension. There was a delay in the project award phase, so we got a late start, but I want to be known for getting them back on schedule.

The website contains a white paper on environmental issues here. It is fun – in a torturous sort of way.  I am learning a lot of technical language to complement my background as a Chemical Engineer.

On Sunday I will be giving a speech in Aichi prefecture (愛知県) for a contest. The speech is five minutes long, which means I have to know it well and stay at my pace. I prefer a two hour speech, you can work from an outline and, if you are behind, something can be dropped. For the short speech, I must have my exact words decided and rehearsed. Also, I am the final speaker, so I can’t be cramming at the last minute; I have to sit and listen to the other participants.

Also, because the year – for many business activities – ends in March, which means a lot of extra meetings for me. I’ve been invited to a small concert on Saturday, but I would have to leave shuji class promptly and race down there. Also, they want me to paint a work for them… the concert may have to fall into the “want to do it, but can’t” basket.

OK, very short on sleep. Off to the futon now. More updates later. I have a very exciting post I want to make, but it may have to wait until next week.

5 Responses to “Still Kicking”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    Busy, busy. Good luck with the speech. I am sure you will be great. And what a mean teaser on the “exciting post” not even a hint as to what it might be!

  2. びっくり Says:

    OK, it was about 4am when I was writing and I didn’t want to spare another moment, as I was expecting a certain colleague would again awaken me early in the morning. Fortunately, no phone call came and I got a good 5 hours of sleep. (Normally, I want 8, but I’m feeling good.)

    There are actually two teasers: one in this post and one in Monday’s post. (Both were written in the wee hours of Wednesday morning, BTW) The one referenced here is related to my shuji teaching license. I need to get the docs scanned so I can post them here; turns out, they are much larger than my scanner. 🙂

  3. Stefanie Says:

    Ah, I look forward to seeing your license. That is an exciting thing.

  4. びっくり Says:

    I got the images scanned today (License, Certificate, Congratulatory letter). The office where I was doing translating had a scanner which could handle paper sizes up to A3! However, it is now 1AM and I need sleep. The post will wait; however, I already uploaded the images to Flickr. If you are clever you can probably find them. Soon, I promise…

  5. Gibberish « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] Finished up the web page translating work. When the prefectural government posts it, I’ll have to include a link… along with […]

Leave a Reply

