Honest and Truthful

by

I try to keep this blog focussed on my experiences in Japan. Political commentary has mostly been relegated to my political blog, but this tidbit was too amusing to pass by.

Japanese news was showing Obama’s wife taking the stage. Apparently she is stumping for him now. The part that jumped out was when she said, “…and my husband is honest, and he tells the truth…” If she hadn’t emphasized the ‘and’, I might not have paid much attention. She seemed to be drawing attention to yet another of his wonderful traits.

Just for the record, I was raised thinking that honesty was a quality which required one to speak truthfully. I guess in the political world ‘honesty’ is a word to use to impress people. Fortunately for us Mr. Obama is honest and truthful.

They cut to an image of her with a magazine article about her in the background. The lead-in said something about her watching Sponge Bob Square Pants. That really killed it for me. I don’t think I could vote for a candidate whose wife watches Sponge Bob. 🙂

11 Responses to “Honest and Truthful”

  1. Sylvia Says:

    So, you’d prefer a candidate whose wife does not supervise their children’s TV time…?? 😛

  2. びっくり Says:

    Well, I certainly hope their children aren’t allowed to watch Sponge Bob. 😉

  3. Sylvia Says:

    Why, you got something against poriferans?!?!

    I’ve never seen it, though I heard about Sponge Bob being gay. Quite silly. Sponges are hermaphrodites! 😀

  4. Stefanie Says:

    Apparently for politicians honesty and truthfulness are two different things 🙂

    As for Sponge Bob, that might not be so bad compared to come of things Hilary’s spouse has been up to 🙂

  5. Sylvia Says:

    Well, as the bumper stickers say, no one died when Clinton lied. I don’t think there is any comparison between illicit sex and an illicit war. Come on, join the light side! Vote for Obama!

  6. Sylvia Says:

    Oops, I thought it was びっくり who left that last comment. I don’t think there’s much chance of Stefanie voting for 100-year-war-McCain.

  7. びっくり Says:

    I probably won’t be voting at all. My house is in Washington state and it is a foregone conclusion who will win the general election there. (Please don’t call me un-American; I don’t think I could handle a Canadian saying that.) 🙂

  8. fightingwindmills Says:

    Ron Paul did well with the delegates in Washington state. We shall see . . .

  9. びっくり Says:

    Ah, Ron Paul may have done well… amongst Republican voters… in the primary… but, if he doesn’t get the Republican nomination, then he won’t be a choice in the general election. I often wonder at the wisdom of running Republican instead of Libertarian or Independent.

    I gather he felt that a third party or Independent could not get elected, and that he is more Republican than the Republicans. If any other Republican gets the nod, Washington will go to any Democratic candidate.

    I am still waiting to see if Nader, Gore, and Powell will find a way to join in before the general election. That’ll stir things up.

  10. fightingwindmills Says:

    I read that Nader is running again. Ron Paul is a Republican congressman, so he is sticking with that label. I think it’s wise because he can demonstrate what the “Republican” label can really stand for.

  11. Stefanie Says:

    heh, Sylvia is right, not a chance that I will vote for McCain. I caucused for Obama in early February. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that he gets the party nomination. You might not vote in the primary, but no vote is lost in the general election (unless I suppose you live in Florida or Ohio) but Washington should be okay 🙂

Leave a Reply

