Just Another Drip

by

Frozen Drip From SpigotSince we’re heading into the holiday weekend and I’ll be running about, I’m predating some entries. (More on the holiday when I get through it.) This is just a snapshot I took when I went to Mino (美濃) to make Japanese paper (和紙).

We arrived at the station and on the way out, I noticed a leaky faucet. I didn’t notice that it was leaking; rather, I noticed that the drip had been freezing. Being fascinated by physical phenomena, I felt compelled to capture it. For example, notice that the top of the icicle (or is that ‘dripcicle’?) is not under the spigot. I have a few theories about how that occurs, but regardless of which is true, I find it amazing.

8 Responses to “Just Another Drip”

  1. Dorothy W. Says:

    Have a great holiday!

  2. sunkissd1 Says:

    It reminds me of a trip to Atlanta during freezing rain. I’ve never seen anything like it…frozen rain drops and icicles like what you’re talking about. It was almost surreal.

  3. fightingwindmills Says:

    That’s pretty! I live near a lot of caverns where limestone deposits cause formations like that one. I hope you have a wonderful holiday. 🙂

  4. びっくり Says:

    Thanks for the good wishes. I shrank the photo down a little to make the text a little more readable. It is snowing again! Friday morning I scraped ice off the car window. I can’t believe this winter.

  5. Kelsey Hough Says:

    Wow. That’s pretty cool. It’s a good thing you had a camera on you at the time. 🙂

    And now for a few random questions. Why are you in Japan? Is it work related? Did you live there previously? I decided that rather than just wondering about it, I’d ask.

    ~Kelsey

  6. びっくり Says:

    Kelsey – thanks for the comment and questions. The short answers are I am in Japan teaching English (at my own school as of August); and I have been here before, but staying in hotels and homes on business trips.

    My About page gives a lot of details (in Japanese). Next week I will post an entry that gives more details about how I got here (in English).

  7. Stefanie Says:

    What a cool photo! Hope you are enjoying your holiday!

  8. びっくり Says:

    Here’s the promised post regarding more details on how I came to be here. It doesn’t explain exactly how I came to be teaching English, but perhaps that is another story.

Leave a Reply

