Global Warming?

by

Saturday night there was a going away party for my successor at the first job I held after moving here. I held that position for almost two years and successor also held it for about two years. The party was at a bar where a UNICEF fund raising concert was taking place.

Someone started telling stories about huge snowflakes coming down about midnight. We all knew they must be crazy. Although we are having a lot of cold weather this winter, we are just too tropical to get much snow here near the bay. I started saying my good byes and hit the door to find that, indeed, we were getting a heavy dump. As I stood in the street saying my final farewells I got some laughs for the snow piling up on my head.

I stayed overnight with friends nearby and hit some festivals today. Finally, I arrived home late Sunday night to find there was a pile of snow in front of my house. The snow was pretty wet, but that didn’t stop us from having a few impromptu snowball fights. I even helped people who were particularly poor at throwing: I would move into the path of their snowballs to take direct hits to the chest. My nice gortex jacket helped me out there.

3 Responses to “Global Warming?”

  1. Sylvia Says:

    What, no complaints from the neighbours?

  2. fightingwindmills Says:

    Did you see Madam’s photos of the snow? They are so beautiful! Check them out at http://contemplationrose.wordpress.com

  3. びっくり Says:

    Sylvia – fortunately, all of these events took place away from my home. No problems with my neighbors. The bar that hosted the UNICEF concert had encountered difficulty with neighbors in the past, but they did a lot of work to soundproof the place. Usually they open about 10pm and close around 8am, so they have to make sure they don’t disturb the neighbors.

    FW – thanks for the link to Madam. Interesting blog. Looks like they got much nicer snow than we got here.

Leave a Reply

