Cooking Kids II

by

Yesterday I taught two special classes on differences between American and Japanese lifestyles: one for fourth graders and one for sixth graders. Today we had a follow-up session, cooking with just the older group.

Normally, I expect elementary students to be easily distracted. The fourth graders followed my expectations and required a little reining in, but the sixth grade class amazed me. For the lecture, they all sat properly, they tried to answer my questions, they asked questions when the floor was opened, and they took careful notes. Also, they opened and closed the class in very polite Japanese form.

Today was a little harder to control because we were cooking, but they each tried their best and it went off well. The teacher chastised them a little about using their brains when some less-than-ideal decisions were made. Fortunately there weren’t any bad decisions involving knives, gas burners, or hot pans.

We made grilled cheese and grilled ham and cheese sandwiches with tomato soup. I convinced the school to spring for some nice red cheddar from England instead of the processed cheese from the grocery store. I did a little math and I think we only spent about 200 yen per student. My instructions were to think of something I made to snack on when I was a youth. I took my instructions and crossed that with what ingredients I could find readily.

I first worked with these kids when they were starting third grade. Seeing them now, just a little more than a month from becoming junior high students, was really enjoyable. They have grown up so well.

2 Responses to “Cooking Kids II”

  1. kevenker Says:

    No macaroni and cheese? Outrageous!

  2. びっくり Says:

    The teacher gave me a little grief about using Campbell’s tomato soup, so I think macaroni from a box would have been too much. Also, I wasn’t allowed to eat mac and cheese when I was a kid. Mom had some strict ideas about what was healthy.

Leave a Reply

