Driving While (Wearing) Black

by

Black is very fashionable in Japan – as mentioned in previous posts. Dark brown is also trendy. This comes to my direct attention when I am driving on unlit roads at night. Many people have surprised me by dashing out of an alley without looking. As they flash into my headlights, I go for the brake. Cyclists are particularly bad about this, perhaps mostly because they move faster than someone out for a stroll.

Today, or more correctly – tonight, all of the previous heart stoppers were put to shame. My street being narrow and having lots of side alleys, I was cruising down the middle of the road. This gives me maximum reaction time when seemingly suicidal folks dart out, and is in keeping with general practice of drivers around here. I noticed a shadowy form on the road ahead. As I was trying to collect enough data to establish what and where it was, I came to the sudden realization that it was closing on me at an alarming rate.

My opponent in what seemed like a game of chicken was a scooter with a youth on the seat. He also was driving down the middle of the road; really fast! Wearing all black! And with no lights! I pulled left to make way, but he didn’t move to the side until we were pretty close. I was trying not to post wacky stuff, but sometimes it just happens and you have to admit it.

4 Responses to “Driving While (Wearing) Black”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    Oh my, I think my heart would still be pounding very hard if I were you. Have people no sense? Did the guy on the scooter think he’d win if you and he went head on?

  2. びっくり Says:

    Whenever I ask “What were they thinking?”, I think the answer is really, “They weren’t.” My guess is he was just a kid who doesn’t pay much attention to his surroundings.

  3. kevenker Says:

    You should have done the world a favor and hit him! 🙂

  4. びっくり Says:

    I had a class to get to and my car is very light; otherwise I would have gladly dispatched him. I’m sure it would have satisfied him and, if I believed in natural selection, it would have spared the gene pool.

Leave a Reply

