No Incredible Journey

by

Went to the doctor yesterday to get my tummy checked out. After touching me in various places with a chilly stethoscope and prodding my belly a bit, he decided an ulcer was unlikely. His main point was that, as I had come to expect, there just wasn’t enough pain. Most likely, I have acute gastritis.

I got a two-week regimen of meds. One is taken after meals and one before going to sleep. At the end of the cycle, if the symptoms continue, he’ll run a camera up my nose and down my throat. I was looking forward to watching my own innards on the TV, but will pass on that in favor of the lighter diagnosis.

Also, the diet for ulcer patients is quite restrictive, but he only suggested that I avoid hard liquor. That shouldn’t be too difficult. Beer is fine. The kidney stone doctor also said the same thing. I think Japanese doctors are afraid to tell patients not to drink beer, lest they get a violent reaction.

Ironically, at the end of the kidney stone post, I laughed at a Japanese guy who got acute gastritis from over-indulging at the Astrodome many years back. Gastronomy may have a factor in my condition, but when the doctor said the main cause is stress, I latched onto that one. I guess I should rest more, exercise more, and have a little fun.

6 Responses to “No Incredible Journey”

  1. Sylvia Says:

    Sorry to hear about the gastritis. You know there is a very good acupuncture/pressure point on the leg for the stomach. Works like a charm. It’s to the outside of the kneecap, below the head of the fibula. Just poke around that area and when you find the spot that hurts, that’s it. Or you can google Stomach 36.

  2. Dorothy W. Says:

    Glad you’re okay, and I hope the medication helps. Definitely rest and have lots of fun.

  3. びっくり Says:

    Sylvia – funny that you mention Stomach 36. Woke up late this morning and had to throw clothes on and run out the door to barely make it to the elementary school on time. Skipping breakfast was aggravating my digestive tract. Suddenly, my right leg had a lot of pain and tightness, outside the kneecap, below the head of the fibula. I’ll do a little research. I never wrote up my experiences with o-kyu (お灸). It is a kind of treatment not too dissimilar to acupressure/acupuncture. It uses moxa and incense to apply heat to the key points which are out of balance. I’ll have to get around to that soon.

    Dorothy – thanks. I am hopeful it will be OK.

  4. Sylvia Says:

    Moxa’s good too. But a good old finger poke to the area will make you feel better instantly. My doctor, who does Western and Chinese medicine, says that if you find a spot that hurts, poke it, whatever it is. 😀

  5. Stefanie Says:

    Sure it isn’t that blowfish fin concoction you were drinking recently? 😉 Seriously though, hope you are on the mend and feeling better soon.

  6. びっくり Says:

    Certainly, my lack of rest, lack of exercise, excessive eating, and moderate (I won’t say excessive here, lest someone try to label me an alcoholic) drinking probably tired me out a bit; which is never good for fighting off health issues.

    The doctor said the number one cause was stress and then maybe excessive pain killer use. I did pop some (Japanese strength) Ibuprofen before Christmas, but that wouldn’t account for the problem. Definitely I have been a bit stressed, so I’ll write it off there.

    The doctor did include sake on the list of things to avoid, so no blowfish fins for awhile. I think I am on the mend. I forgot to take an after meal pill when I ate a greasy, yucky lunch yesterday in Mino and noticed no ill effects. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

