At Least They Aren’t Racist

by

First, sorry for my long absence. I get into modes where I feel uncommunicative and just waste time instead of posting.

Last month I posted (Dec 6 and Nov 29) about my neighbors, the Gangplank family, and their abusive behavior. Recently I found out there was another problem on Dec 18. Apparently, my students went out and found tickets on their cars.

Tokyo created a special parking enforcement force about a year and a half ago. They found that it – although interfering with business and traffic – generated revenue and brought people into compliance; both considered highly-valued events in Japan. Not long after that, other large cities followed suit. Tonight I found out that Tsu, regardless of being a fairly small town, has created our own special force. To one up the large cities, we also changed our laws so that it is illegal to park on the side of the road. Essentially, we have criminalized virtually everyone and created a group to punish them.

I can’t imagine that the force was out on a “routine” patrol on Tuesday night at 9pm. My guess is that Mrs. Gangplank followed through on her threats to call the police. I’ll have to protect my Thursday afternoon students as well. Jumping through hoops should keep me agile.

One worry was that all this attention coming my way was aggressive racism on the part of my neighbor, but today the neighbor behind me set that straight. I mentioned that I thought a neighbor was stirring up the police and she guessed exactly who it was. When she was out walking her dog, Mrs. Gangplank told her that she couldn’t walk her dog on their side of the street. Scary. Not racist – merely sociopathic.

7 Responses to “At Least They Aren’t Racist”

  1. sunkissd1 Says:

    We used to have an older, retired neighbor when I was a kid named Mrs. Tukey (sp? pronounced Two-key) who was the same way, only nosey to boot. My mother was convinced that she & her husbqand would go around in the middle of the night with a weed eater cutting down the neighbors’ weeds. They used to have a super tall hedge and lived on the corner, so on Halloween, the husband would wear a mask and after dark, would jump out of the hedges and scare the kids sh*tless. I think that was his ultimate payback.

  2. Sylvia Says:

    Only sociopathic? Oh, that’s much better!

  3. Stefanie Says:

    Welcome back. And I’m with Sylvia. Sociopathic is soooo much better 😉

  4. びっくり Says:

    Well, if they were racist, I might have to take it personally. Last night’s students all parked at a nearby karaoke joint and walked here. They said each neighborhood has to have one person like this.

  5. Smithereens Says:

    Beware, sociopathic may turns into psychopathic… if so, run!

  6. fightingwindmills Says:

    It may be that “each neighborhood has to have one person like this” no matter what country you are in. Good luck with jumping through hoops. Bikkuri, I would like your help on my blog translating some kaji, please. Take a look whenever you are feeling communicative. 😉

    http://fightingwindmills.wordpress.com/2008/01/02/art-from-japan/

  7. verbivore Says:

    I agree with Sylvia – sociopaths being much much nicer than racists 🙂
    Good luck with this, doesn’t sound very fun at all.

Leave a Reply

