Begging for Lift Tickets

by

This year we had to gather five people for the drive north instead of two. Also, three were late-teen females… we got a late start. We arrived at Echo Valley in Nagano about three hours before the lifts close and two girls needed to rent equipment. We decided it would be a bit expensive to buy lift tickets and only get two hours of use. That doesn’t mean that we gave up…

While the coach helped with rentals, I bummed tickets off people who were leaving the slopes before closing. The slopes were pretty empty since it is Tuesday and Christmas is a work day, but in about 15 minutes I had gathered a full complement of passes, so I headed for the changing rooms. This year the snow is better (although not great), so we are expecting a party of 21 people as opposed to 7 last year. I’m looking forward to a good time.

I discovered a wireless LAN card in the computer here so, time permitting, I may try to connect my DS Lite to the internet using my new Christmas present: an internet browser cartridge. My new pajamas are also coming in handy, since our custom is to take a hot bath before dinner and lounge around with everybody in our PJs. Everyone is family!!! Santa also brought me a monkey gun, which I stowed in my luggage. I can shoot little rubber monkeys across the room. (Yes, they have wings like the scary beasts from Wizard of Oz.)

6 Responses to “Begging for Lift Tickets”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    A monkey gun? My husband and my cats would love one!

  2. びっくり Says:

    Oh, when I get home, I’ll get the monkey gun info off the packaging. I don’t recommend it for cats; the monkeys would be swallowed whole in no time. But it would keep a husband entertained for quite some time.

  3. fightingwindmills Says:

    Those are awesome Christmas presents! 😉 Have a great time in Nagano!

  4. Sunkissd1 Says:

    Brilliant idea for obtaining the lift tickets! Are you a skiier or snowboarder?

    Glad to hear Santa was good to you!

  5. fightingwindmills Says:

    akemashite, omedeto gozaimasu. kotoshi mo, yoroshiku onegaishimasu.

  6. びっくり Says:

    Stefanie – The Flying Monkeys catapult gun is from Accoutrements in Seattle. They also make the magic unicorn bandages and the Machismo For Manly Men – cactus flavor bubble gum cigarettes. (Black Lung, Death Row, and Just Like Dad brands are also available.) Looks like they are home to all sorts of odd… well, accoutrements…

    Sun Kissed – thanks for the praise, but the idea was Mr. Tanaka’s. On the last day we did the opposite. Half day tickets were 3200; full day 3800. We bought all day passes and sold them at lunch time for 2000 yen: saving our customer 1200 yen; and us, 1400. Of course, I am a skier, because I have dedication and want to do more than slide sideways down a mountain. 😉 Actually, I think it would be fun to board, but I think it should only be done in powder snow. Boards are designed to injure wrists, shoulders, heads, necks, and tail bones. When I’m old enough to get free lift tickets, I’ll probably spend the spare money on a board. 🙂

    Windmill Tilter – あけましておめでとう御座います。本年も宜しくお願いします。

Leave a Reply

