T Minus Nine Hours

by

I will be taking the Japanese Language Proficiency Test level 2 (JLPT・日本語能力試験2級) in exactly nine hours, so I better go to bed now. Hoping to get 7 hours sleep and eggs and bacon at Denny’s before the test. I have studied a bit this week and have some chance of passing, but it will be close.

Reading and Grammar (読解・文法) is half of the test and I haven’t done well in that area on the sample tests. Kanji and Vocab (文字・語彙) are OK and Listening (聴解) is fine. Those two are each 25% of the test. Guess it would have been smart to focus study time in the fat category…

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “T Minus Nine Hours”

  1. Naomi Says:

    Good Luck!

  2. Dorothy W. Says:

    Best of luck!

  3. びっくり Says:

    Thanks, it is now T minus 2 hours and I am heading to Denny’s for a protein-filled breakfast.

  4. びっくり Says:

    Well, the Denny’s breakfast plan was a tremendous success. The test execution was somewhat less spectacular. I will definitely have to wait for the official results in February to know if I passed. My strong section had a string of questions with vocab I didn’t know at all and I had a big misunderstanding about directions on the big section that sucked a lot of time. Once I am rested up I will post about my experience and learning about studying and testing.

  5. Stefanie Says:

    Denny’s is in Japan? I never would have thought. Do they have Grand Slam breakfasts there too?

    I hope you did better on the test than you think you did! Waiting three months for the results stinks.

  6. びっくり Says:

    Denny’s has been here for a long time. Back in ’90 the menu was more similar to American Denny’s, but now it has diverged to be more Japanese. They have two American style breakfasts in the morning, but no Grand Slam title on them. They should try that out here, since Japan is the world champion in baseball.

    I also hope my results are better than I think. 🙂 Waiting two months for the results is a bit annoying, but it is in line with everything else about the test. We buy our application forms in June, get our test voucher acknowledging our registration and test site in November. We have to sit in the test rooms for 15 minutes at the beginning of each section doing nothing. This is the waiting test. Because of the system they can only offer it to about 80,000 people once a year.

    The Kanji test on the other hand is smoothly handled.

  7. How Not to Take the JLPT Level 2 « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] Not to Take the JLPT Level 2 December 2nd I took the Japanese Language Proficiency Test Level 2 (JLPT), also called 日本語能力試験 […]

Leave a Reply

