Happy Birthday Ani

by

Today is my elder brother’s birthday. In an amusing twist, I was talking to my younger sister about how to remember my mother’s and eldest niece’s birthdays and realized I had forgotten my brother’s. In class at the elementary school today, I was showing Q&A flash cards to the students. I would hold up the cards and read the question out loud. The students would answer in unison. When I got to one card, I said:

“What day is it today?”

“It’s November 16th!”, came the exuberant reply.

“Oh! It’s my brother’s birthday.”, I said reflexively.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

Well, it’s official. I am sick. I was feeling a little like something was coming on so, being a fool, I shorted myself on sleep two nights in a row. Today at school, I started feeling a little feverish. I came home afterwards and slept for about two and a half hours. I awoke with no hint of fever and my congestion had mostly cleared up, but after my evening class I was feeling pretty hot and tired. I drove to Musashi no Ramen for a quick dinner and headed back here. I am drawing a hot bath and getting ready for an early night. Hopefully I can be asleep by 10pm. Tomorrow morning I have a class and then I need to paint some beautiful calligraphy.

Here’s hoping you are all healthy and rested.

5 Responses to “Happy Birthday Ani”

  1. kevenker Says:

    Hot baths can do wonders for an impending cold! For me, zinc and Umcka work fairly well at reducing the effects of a cold. Sometimes, if I’m fast enough, I can even avoid one.

    Hope you feel well for you calligraphy class!

  2. Dorothy W. Says:

    I hope you feel better very soon!

  3. びっくり Says:

    I got about 9 hours of sleep last night and felt better in the morning, but still need more. One student couldn’t make class this morning because her son was sick and they went to a clinic. I taught her son last night, so I called to wish him well. His mother assured me that he didn’t catch anything from me; he was already sick yesterday.

    I am skipping shuji class because the other students are mostly kids. I may study at home a bit, and will certainly get to bed early tonight.

  4. Stefanie Says:

    Happy birthday to your brother! Hope you feel better soon!

  5. びっくり Says:

    Thanks! I got good rest two nights in a row and am feeling a lot better. I need to put my head down in the next few minutes; that third day really makes a difference.

    Sounds like my brother’s birthday may have been preempted by my grand-niece’s party.

Leave a comment