Latest Toy… er, Tool

by

Several teachers with whom I enjoy passing time, all own Nintendo DS Lite hand held game machines. They have been leaning on me to buy one for some time. Resisting the urge was not so difficult, because I have too many things going on to spend much time staring into video game land. Counter pressure from my love of games was in check until today.

People had tried to sell it to me as a tool by pitching the cartridges which contain Japanese dictionaries. After all, I dropped about $200 on an electronic dictionary and its features are fixed. A DS can have all manner of software loaded into it. The rub is that the dictionary I bought contains 100 books for reference and study, making it far superior to the cartridge for the DS.

Last night I was kicked off my perch by our recent discussions of kanji learning tools. Learning kanji is tough and all students in Japan must learn them well, so at least three companies have put together tools for studying. All of these tools have their weak points, but I settled on the 漢検DS2 cartridge from Rocket. I picked up the Noble Pink color DS Lite, with the kanji study cartridge and Mario Kart DS.

Mario Kart DS is a silly time-consumer, but it is amazing how we can all sit down in a living room together and automatically link our machines – no cables required. I will have to make sure I don’t get sucked into playing this too much. I also fear that people will be quick to point out addictive little games from time to time. The kanji software, on the other hand, will payback every hour spent by improving my communication skills.

4 Responses to “Latest Toy… er, Tool”

  1. Sylvia Says:

    Wow, that almost sounds rational! 😉 I couldn’t come up with anything that good last night when I decided to keep my “pro” blog account. The best I could rationalize is that my sidebars look like crap without my touches of custom CSS…

  2. びっくり Says:

    There are often little things I would like to do to improve my blog format. Certainly a ‘pro’ account is indicated. The cost is not so high, I think. What more justification do you need? The time spend customizing though… that is the real cost.

  3. Sylvia Says:

    The cost is time, and maybe a couple of books! That’s serious!

  4. びっくり Says:

    Well, since you put it that way…

Leave a Reply

