Why I’m Still Single

by

Three English schools in the area organize several beach concerts or barbecues during the year. They are not enormous events, but are generally well attended. Today there was a concert at Marina Kawage (マリナ河芸) and I headed up to Chisato station (千里駅) with a group of teachers.

About halfway through the concert a pleasant young lady came over to talk with me. She had recognized me from an earlier beach party. We started chatting and, not far into the conversation, my phone rang. Two teachers from Tsu (津) who had never been to this venue, just arrived at the station and were asking for directions. Now, this is where my decision-making abilities fail me…

I couldn’t hear the phone very well at the concert and the roads near the beach twist and wind a bit, so I told the teachers to wait at the station and I would walk out to meet them. In hindsight, it would have been better to step away from the stage, give directions over the phone, and return to the conversation.

When I got back, I didn’t see the young lady and realized I hadn’t focused on her face when we chatted. I could only remember the sparkle in her eyes as we connected from across the venue, but undoubtedly the sparkle was gone after I ran out. I had an excellent recovery plan – having discussed her name in detail with her – I went to the organizer that remembers every girls name. Unfortunately he didn’t know this name. This bummed me out a bit.

Perhaps another happening should have warned me early in the evening. A charming woman I met a few years ago showed up… with her new husband… who has the same name as me. A sign of lost opportunity?

4 Responses to “Why I’m Still Single”

  1. sunkissd1 Says:

    Maybe take it that fate/destiny was giving you a sneak preview of things to come…

    At least this time it wasn’t a bodily function taking you away…

  2. びっくり Says:

    … you mean three years from now, I will meet her again? And she also will be married to someone with my name? What a sad, lonely, torturous future I have ahead of me. 😉

  3. Teacher friend Says:

    So sorry. I am such a cock block.

  4. びっくり Says:

    Well, sorry to repeat vulgar vernacular, but I wasn’t trying to get any ‘cock’. 🙂 I certainly don’t blame you two for showing up at that time. If I were smart, I would have left the concert area, called you back, said “turn right, turn left, follow the sound” and been done with it. I’m glad you both came to the show and, in my fatalistic vein, if it was meant to be, I’m sure I’ll meet her again.

Leave a Reply

