Double Date for Six…

by

While I was in Tokyo I got a phone call from Iso-chan. There is a yakitori restaurant at which I like eating. Often Iso-chan is there. She was telling me that her friend wanted to meet me. We chose Saturday the sixth as a good night to meet up. I kept telling my associates that I had a double date planned. The amusing point being that it was me and two “dates”.

Today, at our city festival, I was telling several people about the evening’s plan. However, I noted that there is no singular or plural in Japanese. So, I was joking that “meeting me and my friend” could actually mean, “meeting me and my friends.” Turns out the joke was not far from the truth. Friend equaled four people.

I thought I might have been in a gokon (合コン) which is a kind of group date/speed dating situation. After living through the experience, I think they were setting me up with one girl in the group. Time will tell if that’s what was going down, but the guy next to me wanted to go to Osaka to hire women. While I would like to see Osaka again (having been absent since 92) I had a hard time convincing him that hiring women was not a desirable practice.

Anyhow, today was a blast. Lots of festival events AND a pseudo-date.

3 Responses to “Double Date for Six…”

  1. Sylvia Says:

    “I had a hard time convincing him that hiring women was not a desirable practice”

    Oy. I had a boyfriend like that once. Needless to say, he wasn’t my boyfriend for long.

  2. びっくり Says:

    I had to re-read this today. I wrote it last night after having a few. Needed to double-check how I worded everything. You definitely don’t strike me as the type who would have a boyfriend like that.

  3. Sylvia Says:

    He didn’t strike me as the type (extra crunchy) to think like that. People are full of surprises…

Leave a Reply

