Awakened by Vultures

by

Slept with the window open to get the cool breeze. The downside of doing this is that I am easily awakened by sounds that violate my environment: a kind of survival instinct. This morning I heard a horrendous croak and snapped to. A quick look outside and I noticed some kind of vulture trying to tear garbage bags open. A longer look revealed that it was probably a crow with some disease leaving his head looking all mangy.

Being awakened by birds can be a frightening experience. I wrote about a Mr. Tanaka who had a boating accident. I got an update from his friend recently. Apparently he was drifting in and out of sleep while he was floating in the water. He became aware at some point that seagulls were checking him out. I think one landed on him and was investigating whether to take a peck. He described this as the most frightening part of being lost at sea.

2 Responses to “Awakened by Vultures”

  1. sunkissd1 Says:

    Speaking of external noises, I have recently blogged about our friendly frog who helped himself inside one stormy night. In recent days, we’ve had a couple evenings of very stormy weather….heavy wind and rain. Squid was home one of the evenings and we heard these loud creaking noises out on the front porch. It kind of freaked her out and she didn’t believe me that it was our friendly frog. So I sent her to open the front door and by then he was gone. I’ve decided it’s the same frog that keeps coming back. We took the first one next door and put him in their pond, so I just take it he wants to come in out of the rain.

    Now, that would make a cute children’s book, huh?

  2. びっくり Says:

    He wanted to come and thank you for taking him to such a nice pond.

    I was writing a comment on another blog about how eating grasshoppers, crickets, locusts, and such is permitted in the laws passed down in Leviticus. While writing, a cricket crawled up to my mouse hand. I trapped him under a glass and finished my post while contemplating whether to eat him. I took him to the edge of the neighbors rice field and released him. He vanished immediately. Maybe I’ll meet him again.

Leave a Reply

