Manga Mix Memorial

by

There is a song that was originally written in English, which has become popular in Japan. As a result, someone translated it into Japanese. Yet, due to the popularity of English, it has recently been partially translated back into Japanese. It is was used as a memorial to the 911 victims. The main thought is: “Don’t cry in front of my grave, because I am not there.”

Usually, the Japanese title appears as ‘千の風になった’ (sen no kaze ni natta). Normally they write it as ‘I am a Thousand Winds’, but more literally, the Japanese title means ‘I became a thousand winds’.

Every time I hear the Japanese title it makes me think of two good Studio Ghibli animated movies: “Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi” (千と千尋の神隠し) and “Kaze no Tani no Nausica” (風の谷のナウシカ). There is only a little similarity, but something about the spirit of the titles overlaps in my memory. (The human brain is an odd contraption.)

At the elementary school, the kids are going to learn this song. Their English is quite good, so the words won’t be much trouble; however, the melody is not so easy. I think they will have no trouble, but I don’t know if I can do it.

2 Responses to “Manga Mix Memorial”

  1. verbivore Says:

    千と千尋の神隠し is one of my favorite Miyazaki films. Found you via Stefanie at So Many Books and wanted to say I like your blog. I was born in 鹿児島, moved back to the states with my family and then moved to 宮崎県 for a few years when I was in my twenties. I look forward to reading more of your blog.

  2. びっくり Says:

    Thanks for reading. I have yet to visit Kagoshima, but it has been on my list for about 15 years. Also, I like your tag.

Leave a Reply

