Successful Lovemaking Tendency

by

Yes, I find myself fascinated by statistics – and I’ve been noticing a pattern in how people find my blog. Two internet searches that pop up a lot are “tatoo <some Japanese word in Roman letters>” or “<some Japanese word> kanji”. Because of the popularity of things Japanese, I think a lot of folks are looking to get things translated for body art or other media.

What I’ve been noticing is that there’s a lot of room for error. Hopefully, folks are a little cautious about checking things before running off and getting ink injected into their skin. The difficulty arises from the fact that the searches are being done in Roman letters. There are often many kanji compounds with the same reading, yet the meanings can be very different.

Recently, someone was searching for “seikou kanji”. After looking up the main entries with that reading, I realized this was a perfect example…

  • 成功 success, coup, prosperity
  • 性交 lovemaking, sex
  • 性向 inclination, tendency, nature, flair
  • 精巧 elaborate, delicate, sophisticated
  • 製鋼 made of steel
  • 生硬 crude, immature
  • 精鋼 refined steel
  • 性行 ’character and deeds’

My dictionary lists at least 32 compounds (熟語) with the same reading. I hope the searcher checks again and they are looking for one of these eight. If not, I suppose they could leave a message.

2 Responses to “Successful Lovemaking Tendency”

  1. kevenker Says:

    Yes, it could be quite embarrassing to want to get 成功 (success, coup, prosperity) and instead end up with 性交 (lovemaking, sex)! Though for some, I’m sure that would be thought of as cool. 🙂

  2. びっくり Says:

    I’m always amused by words that have the same reading, but almost exactly opposite meanings: crude/immature vs. elaborate/delicate/sophisticated. I’m sure that could cause some trouble.

Leave a Reply

