My New Hat

by

Some of you have been waiting for this because I told you about it in email or on the phone. This is my new hat. I picked it up in Takayama. I have wanted one for a years, but have never seen one for sale before. They are a little rare and many Japanese people have never seen them. The standard configuration is conical, coming to a sharp point at the top. I have seen these hats in movies and animation. They are called sandogasa (三度笠), coming partially from the word forSandogasa umbrella. Couriers in olden times would wear hats like this, keeping their hands free and eliminating the need for an umbrella. It’s nice on a rainy day, but excellent on a sunny day, shading the face and neck while allowing a breeze for cooling.

I really want one that is at least 50 percent wider and with a slightly lower brim. Those usually seem to be worn by mysterious heroes, wandering samurai, and traveling monks in the movies.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “My New Hat”

  1. Beautiful Sitings Along the Trail 8 « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] without meeting someone I know. As I was enjoying the fresh air at the summit two people wearing sandogasa came up the backside of the mountain. One of them called out my name. It was the owner of an […]

  2. Judy Says:

    Where did you find your hat? I will be going to Tokyo on Saturday and was hoping to buy one during my trip.
    With the hat, I was hoping the chin straps would be attached –
    Any help in locating a store in Tokyo would be appreciated.

  3. びっくり Says:

    I spotted it as we were driving in Takayama and made the driver stop so I could get it. This is the widest one I have seen for sale. I also have a small conical one with writing on it from Shirakawago and have seen similar ones on the road to Owase. Just for the record, these are all countryside locations far from Tokyo.

    I guess you can find something in Tokyo, but I’ve only been there a few times since ’92, so I can’t help much. If you are staying at a hotel, ask the concierge. In their very Japanese way, they’ll call every souvenir stand in Tokyo until they find you one.

    Mine came with a chin strap, but it’s really just a long loop of soft cord, so you could make your own easily.

  4. horse riding croatia Says:

    Do you have any video of that? I’d like to find out some
    additional information.

Leave a Reply

