Learning for You

by

Spent a lot of time this afternoon learning about the import and export tools available for WordPress.com. My hope is to recover files from the original Bikkuri Blog, so that you can read them.

I’ll have to run a few more tests to understand everything. Then I will need to learn about editing tools to convert the HTML file from the old, corrupted blog into an XML file that meets the WordPress export file format. Once the files are uploaded there will be a manual process of assigning categories, correcting internal links, and approving the posts. This will take some time, but things are moving in the right direction.

Reading through the old entries, I am a little embarrassed. Not just because my writing style has developed, but also because my Japanese was really bad. I might correct some of the entries, but I am leaning toward keeping the original text. More details as things develop.

2 Responses to “Learning for You”

  1. Keven Says:

    You should definitely keep the old text. If you want, make an Update: at the bottom indicating the more correct grammar. But that’s just me. 🙂

  2. びっくり Says:

    Generally I would agree with your philosophy; however, there are also some embarrassing English mistakes that I will probably edit. (Improper use of ‘their/there/they’re’ and such.)

    Also, some of the entries are purely political in nature and have no connection to my life here in Japan. I will move those to Bikkuri Political manually. Mostly, picking on Kerry for his flipping and flopping.

    One bummer I noticed was the dates seem to be the time when I wrote the posts rather than when I dated them. For example, I wrote some entries after midnight, but then predated them. I will try to manually correct these as I notice them.

    I think there are about 120 posts from that ~15 month period, so a bit of manual work – while taking some time – won’t kill me.

Leave a Reply

