Rainy Days and Mondays

by

Sunday we had a downpour from early morning to late at night. I stayed indoors all day, but didn’t accomplish much. Mostly I watched American movies and drama on TV.

This morning I went out to drive to work and found a surprise. Saturday night I came home from shuji class and parked my bike in front of the house. I had planned to go out again, but got distracted. So, anyhow it was a nice surprise to see it was still there about 38 hours later.

My house fronts on a fairly busy street, a couple blocks from the high school. If you left a nice bike out all weekend by your nearest high school, how would you fair? Just another one of the nice things about living (in a smaller town) in Japan. I suppose I couldn’t have done that in Tokyo or Osaka.

Tomorrow I get to have class at a youchien (幼稚園) which is something like an English kindergarten, with kids from 3 to 5 years old. Because I am not responsible for the elementary schools this year they asked me to take on some special classes for the youchien school. I love the cute little kids, so I agreed. It should be a good time. In the evening there will be another “thanks for all the effort” party eating yummy Matsusaka Beef (松坂牛) in, you guessed it, Matsusaka. Hopefully, I remember to hit a cash machine first. After buying groceries today, I am down to about 1500 yen in pocket change.

2 Responses to “Rainy Days and Mondays”

  1. sunkissd1 Says:

    If you left a bike in front of a school in the US, you’d probably be fairly safe. Don’t you know kids here are so totally lazy, have you seen the obesity rates!! If they had a bike, then how would they get their parents to DRIVE them everywhere? Ü

  2. びっくり Says:

    Yuk, Yuk, Yuk. I suppose you are correct. Also, most people here are frightened by the height of my bike seat. Even people who are the same height as me think it is way too high and they could never ride it. This perception comes from the fact that most people only ride one to three speed bikes with old girl-bike frames; the seat is usually low enough that one can stand over the seat. I think the bike is more likely to be stolen for scrap metal than for riding.

Leave a Reply

