Pepsi Ice Cucumber is Drinkable

by

Friday morning I finally hunted down the Elusive Pepsi Ice Cucumber drink, which went on sale June 12th. Circle K near my home had it in stock when I stopped there on my way to school. I didn’t think it would make an appropriate morning snack, so I penned my initials on the bottle and stowed it in the fridge.

Lunchtime rolled around and, as usual, the school lunch bloated my belly; no way I was pouring syrup and carbonation in at the same time. In the afternoon, I headed for the Board of Ed. office for some meetings… guess where I left the bottle.

On my way home, I stopped at another Circle K and picked up a new bottle. While watching TV and surfing the net, I had a little taste test. Let me start by saying a “blind” taste test would be preferable. The color was kind of a pale yellow-green/turquoise mix. It reminded me a bit of toilet cleaner, a la Tidy Bowl, but really, those are usually blue. Finally, it hit me, I have seen this color before.

When I lived in Houston, it was very popular to make buildings with mirrored sides and large fountains out front. The fountains usually had bluish-greenish dye to make the water look very “fresh” and “natural”. So, I don’t know how the Japanese market will respond to the color, but I would have been happier with a very faint green color – you know – like the inside of a real cucumber.

The flavor was not at all offensive, but seemed a bit more melony than cucumbery. (Odd, Ubuntu’s spell-checker flags melony and cucumbery as errors.) My feeling may have come from the fact that the drink is too sweet. One quarter of the sugar might have been satisfactory for me. (It’s been at least a decade since I drank a Pepsi, but I seem to recall it was always overly sweet.)

Just a disclaimer, I rarely drink soda; so if you are a soda lover, I’m sure you will like this better than I did. Now, I have to figure out what to do with the bottle in the school fridge. maybe I can convince everyone to taste a little and it will disappear quickly, much like the goat cheese and fish egg paste from Sweden.

5 Responses to “Pepsi Ice Cucumber is Drinkable”

  1. sunkissd1 Says:

    You could use it as a writing assignment in class. Have the kids do a taste test then write about it…make it a creative writing thing.

    I don’t like Pepsi much either, for the same reason. It is far too sweet for my taste. I had a similar experience at Starbucks yesterday. They have a green tea/lemonade I like, but I forgot to ask them to only use a half pump of sweetener. Usually they add 3 or 4 pumps and then it’s way too sweet. Stupid me forgot to tell them and after about 2 sips I felt the ‘way too much sugar’ headache coming on.

    Well, thank you for taking it for the team. You know I don’t like cucumbers much, so I appreciate you making the sacrifice and satisfying my curiosity!!

  2. びっくり Says:

    Yesterday I received a care package of homegrown Japanese cucumbers at work. Last night I sliced one up and it was a whole lot better than the soda.

    At Starbuck’s I like to order the water. It is free and it is never too sweet. I think they don’t like me there because I haven’t been indoctrinated into their religion with its mandatory tithing. 🙂

    I’d try the mandatory writing assignment, but they would just look away, or look at me and say, “I don’t understand”. Then I would say it in Japanese with the same response. Then the Japanese teacher would say it in Japanese and they would say, “I don’t understand.” However, I’m sure they’d do the taste test, but I got chewed out for giving the kids gummi treats last year. I thought I wrote that up, but can’t find it now…

  3. sunkissd1 Says:

    THAT is funny about the gummi bears!

    I don’t care for Starbucks much either and I do like espresso, but find their coffee and chocolate syrup to be too bitter. The green tea/lemonade I was talking about is usually quite tasty and very good hot too.

    There is a ‘new’ coffee out called white coffee. If you look it up online, there are a bunch of recipes that call for a ton of milk/cream, however what I’m talking about has to do with the coffee bean itself. It’s supposed to be purer and less acidic. A chick I know who’s had a ton of cancer related issues (at the age of 32/33), was told by her doctor to try the white coffee. I tried it…has a nutty flavor to it.

    White tea is another new thing. The catch is that you can’t let it steep too long or else it gets bitter. I typically throw the bag in and forget about it, so I don’t think this is a good option for me! Ü

  4. びっくり Says:

    Yeah, the teacher waited until I had given out several bags before telling me to take them back. I refused. I told her that she should have notified me right away if she thought it was wrong. She told the students in Japanese at the end of class to return them to me. I told the students that they were a gift and I couldn’t take them back, but if the teacher was taking them away they should give them to her.

    After my next class I found all of them piled on my desk. BTW, this is the teacher who I referred to as Force of Chaos in several posts.

    White, white, white… better be careful or we’ll start trying to label you as having latent racial tendencies again. 😉

  5. びっくり Says:

    Oh, Family Mart has it in stock as well.

Leave a Reply

