Eating for Two (or more)

by

Thanks to the student teachers, we enjoyed chanko nabe (ちゃんこ鍋) tonight. This is the traditional food eaten by sumo wrestlers, who are also called rikishi (力士). My understanding is that rikishi eat once a day and then sleep for a long time. Certainly this is consistent with modern physiological beliefs that eating several small meals increases metabolism and weight loss, while a small number of large meals will decrease metabolic rates. Rikishi are able to gain tremendous weight through these eating habits combined with intense physical training.

Just for the record, the smallest current rikishi is about 115 kg. I’m disappointed that I have ballooned up to 85 kg; the light guy still has 30 kg on me. Currently there are a lot of athletes around 150 kg, and Konishiki (小錦), who is no longer fighting, once weighed in around 264 kg (about 584 pounds). They say a rikishi can eat 100 times the average Japanese person’s intake.

The going away party for the student teachers was my first chance to eat chanko nabe. I would rate it quite high for taste, ease of consumption, and healthy contents. Unfortunately, I have to give it questionable marks for its effect on my digestive system.

Late in the evening I was chatting with a beautiful, talented young woman while walking her to the train station. Suddenly, I was struck with an urgency, forcing the choice between continuing to talk/walk with her or parting company to find facilities. I won’t tell you which path I decided, but I will say the stronger nature kicked in.

In all fairness, I would write this off to exhaustion, slight illness, or a sudden change in vegetable intake. I would be willing to eat like a sumo wrestler again.

4 Responses to “Eating for Two (or more)”

  1. Sunkissd1 Says:

    And here I thought by your title, you were trying to deliver some news…ie: your pending pregnancy. Didn’t Keven recently have one of those headliners…scared the bejesus out of me then… haha. Ü

    When you said your path was decided by the stronger nature, I assume you walked the young lady the rest of the way….

  2. びっくり Says:

    Well, trying to be a gentlemen is a pretty strong nature, but the biological urgency, although starting out weak, became stronger and stronger until it overtook the other. When I say biological urgency, I hope you understand I was referring to the need for an appropriate waste disposal spot. I realize that term might have left room for misinterpretation.

    Oh, also, rumors of my pregnancy are greatly exaggerated.

  3. sunkissd1 Says:

    I got where you were going, but it’s not often that you leave the gate wide open, so I had to seize the opportunity to poke a little fun in your direction.

    Can you imagine the story you might’ve been telling to your grandchildren otherwise? I can picture it now…Ü

  4. びっくり Says:

    When the gate is left open, it is to prompt readers to post… thanks for coming in.

Leave a Reply

