Change is Evil

by

Oops, forgot to mention that yesterday was my birthday. (Also, you may note this entry was actually typed on Sunday night and pre-dated.) But more importantly, I did a search of my blog and found I had never explained yakudoshi (厄年).

When women turn 19 or 33 and when mean turn 25, 42, or 61, it is called yakudoshi. The first character means “evil” or “misfortune”, and the second; “year”. Standard definitions indicate that there is an expectation that misfortune will come in the year that you become one of these ages. I did find one other definition that indicated it was a period of change, tenkanki (転換期); which also means “crisis”.

All I can figure from this is that: evil, misfortune, and crisis are all equatable with change. At least in the world of Yin/Yang, which is the source of this tradition.

4 Responses to “Change is Evil”

  1. Keven Says:

    GAHH!!! Dang it!! I was going to send you an email, but then I go so busy with work and getting things organized for a class this weekend, plus my first 100 mile bike ride, that, when the day came, I totally forgot! 😦 😦

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! 🙂

  2. びっくり Says:

    That’s OK, it gives me an out if I forget yours. 🙂

  3. sunkissd1 Says:

    I want you to know the reason I didn’t send out birthday greetings is because I was out celebrating in your honor!! 🙂 Those were some damn good margaritas too!!

  4. びっくり Says:

    Cool! I hope my birthday party was lots of fun for you.

Leave a Reply

