I am Superstar

by

Driving home from Japanese class, I had the radio on in the background. Some fun tunes played and then the chatter started, much to my amusement. The band “Kodama Central Station” put out a new single called “I am Superstar”. The announcer opened the discussion with, “I am Superstar… what a great title!” in Japanese.

I smirked. There is no connection in Japan between “that’s great” and “that’s grammatically correct” when it comes to (mis-)using English.

I do have to admit it sounds so cute when a Japanese announcer says it.

Leave a Reply

