Don’t Restrain Yourself

by

Yesterday I got a new sim chip for my T-Mobile phone and picked up a rental car. Now I can communicate and travel – the possibilities are endless. Visited a couple relatives, got a free massage, and headed out for a certified Italian dinner. Apparently there is an organization that will check out ingredients, tools and processes at restaurants to see if they follow traditional Neapolitan pizzeria methods. Tutta Bella is a wonderful pizza place that has met the requirements. It kind of reminded me of when I was working in Siracusa on Sicily. The only thing that would have completed it would be a mafia bombing across the street while I was sleeping, but that’s another story.

In Japan there is a custom of leaving food on the platters so everyone else can eat. It doesn’t matter if everyone else is rubbing their bellies and groaning about how full they are; a traditionalist will still show restraint. To avoid packing up leftovers and to be a good host, restraint will be followed by an insistence that you must eat everything.

Enryo shinai de kudasai.

Last night I was given clean-up duty at the restaurant. I managed to leave all the platters empty. My mother would be so proud.

2 Responses to “Don’t Restrain Yourself”

  1. DC Says:

    The certified Neapolitan pizzeria is called Tutta Bella. The gelato is from Bottega Italiana.

  2. びっくり Says:

    DC, thanks for the clarifications. I edited the entry to reflect them. I hope people don’t think you are crazy for stating something that is (now) in the post. 🙂 Thanks again for introducing me to this wonderful restaurant, I look forward to the new place in Woodinville.

Leave a Reply

