Comprehension Drill #1

by

Q: 漢字の数は?

A: 漢字は50,000字以上もある。しかし、現代の新聞や雑誌で使われるのは4,000以内、よく使われる漢字は2,000字ぐらいだ。

Here is a question and its answer from my new kanji test study dictionary. There are many puzzles, games, and bits of info stuck in margins and gaps between sections. Can you read it? If not, and you want help,

First, I will give you a vocab list:

  • 漢字 かんじ kanji (main character set in Japanese)
  • 数 かず count, number, quantity
  • 字 じ counting word for characters (1字、2字、3字、)
  • …以上 いじょう more than…
  • …以内 いない within…
  • 現代 げんだい today, present day
  • 新聞 しんぶん newspaper
  • 雑誌 ざっし magazine
  • 使う つかう use
  • ぐらい about, approximately

Now, my shot at translating:

Q: How about the number of kanji?

A: There are more than 50,000 characters, but present day newspapers and magazines use fewer than 4,000 characters. About 2,000 characters are frequently used.

Well, how did you do? How did I do? I am thinking about making a similar type of language practice posting regularly. I am experimenting with (and learning) formatting to improve the layout/readability. I may attach furigana and do something to get the vocab list lined up in nice columns. I hope this was interesting.

3 Responses to “Comprehension Drill #1”

  1. Added New Blog « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] Neo-新びっくりブログ A dozen years later Bikkuri is once again loose in Japan… « Comprehension Drill #1 […]

  2. Keven Says:

    Very cool. Seems to work. I think you can do tables in wordpress, which would make the vocabulary section very useful. Thanks for the time you’re putting into this! 🙂

  3. びっくり Says:

    You should have said ‘one’ can do tables in WordPress. I, however, need to do some studying before I can do them. 🙂 Hopefully I can do tables with no visible borders.

Leave a Reply

