Universal Parking Fees

by

Recently I was noticing pricing on parking signs. The price always seems to be 100 yen; which is around 80 or 90 cents. But what I really noticed was that the price is always in a big, easy to read font and the time period is in a rather small font.

Near my train station 100 yen buys one hour. Other places I have seen give 15, 12, or 10 minutes.  So doing the math, what goes for 100 yen near here could be 400, 600, or 800 yen, even though the sign says the same price. If I head into Tokyo again, I’ll have to look at the signs there. I can only imagine the time period must be shorter – maybe 1 minute???

Leave a Reply

