Called For Flu

by

Last week the 7th grade classes had about seven students missing from each 30 student class on account of flu outbreak. Surprisingly there were only two or fewer students missing from the 8th and 9th grade classes. Many people were shocked that we didn’t cancel classes.

Schools here have a practice of cancelling classes when communicable illness related absences exceed certain parameters. My inquiries resulted in somewhat vague answers, but it seems that the purpose of this is merely to avoid spreading the disease.

We had two or three emergency conferences in the teacher’s office to decide to continue classes. This week the numbers have grown and today’s conference ended with a decision to cancel 7th and 8th grade classes Thursday and Friday. Additionally, weekend extracurricular activities were also suspended.

Tomorrow’s 7th grade classes were causing me a little trepidation because of how things went last week, so I can’t say I’m sorry to have a break. The following week they will be taking their final exams; giving me a two week break from 7th grade classes. Why, I do not know, but we will have classes for more than two weeks following the finals; my worry is that there will be no way to control the classes after the test.

2 Responses to “Called For Flu”

  1. Sunkissd1 Says:

    Some schools here have also been closed from the flu. Rather than the usual of absentees, Blanchet High School (private Catholic school) had close to 1/3 of their student body out sick with this particular flu. A 2nd grade girl has died from it, so now people have stood in line for up to 4 hours to get their kids vaccinated.

    Some adults have told me the recovery time can be up to several weeks! As long as you’re healthy, a break is a small inconvenience in comparison. Ü

  2. びっくり Says:

    Thanks for the ‘real’ info. Many people ask me about American schools and I usually have to tell them that “Things have changed a lot since I was in school, so I really don’t know.”

    This flu sounds very frightening. I refuse to get it!!!

Leave a Reply

