Sustained Drive

by

Some activities require tremendous perseverence: creating my own language and culture school seems to be no exception. Finding an ideal place to live, convincing the authorities to cough up a driving license, Preparing for upcoming language tests are a few of the other activities that have required an ongoing push from me. Recently I have been thinking about the impact that persevering has on me mentally and emotionally.

A bit of a battle can be an enjoyable challenge, but I find that with no chance to sit back and ponder I become very fatigued. My reaction to this is usually a little too severe and I go into a kind of hibernation mode riddled with meditation and play. Struggling for balance is key. Much has been accomplished to this point, but I have been finding myself too much on the play/planning side of things, and not enough on the pushing/executing side.

I am greatly convinced I would have given up somewhere between Ohio and Kill Devil (Kitty Hawk) on the train and could never have invented the airplane. History has it that on the repeated train rides the Wright brother almost quit after failing so many times. One quote mentions something about ‘not in a hundred years’. Fortunately they received a boost when they were at a conference and found that; although they failed repeatedly, they were way beyond the rest of the world’s inventors.

I expect that completing the one time tasks (i.e., renting an apartment, moving, buying a car, negotiating contracts with two teaching locations, …) will relieve a lot of the overwhelming feelings. The ongoing push to maintain client base and create new types of lesson plans is a much more enjoyable and simple task for me. Having found enough students to effectively replace my income leaves me with only moderate pressure there.

Thanks for indulging my little cathartic blurb; merely writing this has giving me motivation to knock those one time items off my list.

“…conceived by genius, achieved by dauntless resolution and unconquerable faith.”

3 Responses to “Sustained Drive”

  1. Keven Says:

    It’s a battle to be sure. To balance effort with recharge time. Being independent, it will be even more critical that you find that balance so that you don’t have your business boom and bust. I think this is a big problem with a lot of small businesses. People work hard and get things rolling and then, because they’ve been working so hard, they slack just when they should keep driving to take things to the next level where they could set it up so that they actually could rest and still have the business thrive. Instead, as the money rolls in, they rest and then things go downhill until they have to struggle and build back up again. It’s a viscous cycle.

  2. Keven Says:

    Ha! I mispelled vicious! It’s a vicious cycle not a viscous one… 🙂

  3. びっくり Says:

    Yeah, timing is key. It looks like I might be getting too much work quickly. I will have to think long and hard about how big I want my school to become. Originally I was mostly just thinking of being a one man show, but it looks like this year I will have to think a lot about whether to turn business away or hire another teacher.

    I have written my low opinion of the ‘average’ foreign teacher in Japan, so you might guess I wouldn’t hire most of them. Fortunately I know one guy who has a Japanese teaching license and is working on his PhD in Linguistics. He is responsible, clear spoken, and would be entertaining for the clients. He is looking for about two days of work a weak, so if I line up the schedule well, I could exceed 140% of reasonable work load.

    There are a few other possiblities who I am getting to know, but two of the long termers suddenly decided to return to America.

    I won’t let the viscosity slow me down. 😉

Leave a Reply

