Hard Type Toilet Paper

by

This one is wacky and pretty much writes itself: read the title again and move on if you’re in a hurry. The junior high school year-end party was at Plaza Doushin (プラザ洞津), the usually location for their big events. After having a few drinks I slipped out to the restroom. On a ledge I saw spare toilet paper rolls neatly wrapped and labelled “Hard Type”. No matter how many years I live here learning about language and culture, I will probably be at a loss to explain why this would be a positive selling feature.

Update: a bit of research shows that it is probably not a selling feature, but rather it is just honest labelling – I’m glad I only needed to go number one. Here is a link to some products from tsuyuki paper company. If you scroll down to the photo with three rolls wrapped in pink paper with pandas on them, you can read (if you read Japanese) an interesting blurb:

Commercial use toilet paper is generally ‘Fancy’ 65meter rolls of ‘Hard Type’ paper, but recently commercial use (also) is ‘Soft Single’; women are delighted and market demand is increasing.

While researching, I also found this English language study toilet paper. I’m thinking about getting the school to buy some for me to give out as rewards for winning games in class.

3 Responses to “Hard Type Toilet Paper”

  1. Keven Says:

    Wow! That English toilet paper is cool!! You need to bring some along when you come back to visit!!

  2. びっくり Says:

    I was wondering how I could write about toilet paper and get no comments. The English toilet paper comes in packages of 100 rolls, still not sure if I will order up that many.

    I always get a kick out of printed toilet paper and bathroom readers. I find the toilet seat a lot less comfortable than a couch, so I try to limit the amount of time to only what is necessary and relax on the couch to read. However, people married with children have informed me that sometimes it is the only quiet place in the house.

  3. I Can Read « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] Can Read When I posted about Hard Type Toilet Paper, I included a translation of some web page content. After posting it, a thought hit me: I had read […]

Leave a Reply

