Tough Being a Foreigner

by

Truth is usually stranger than fiction. A man was attacked by another man in the stairwell of his apartment building. The attacker used a box cutter and slashed his neck, lip, and cheek. After returning from the hospital the man was being interviewed in front of the apartment by a TV news crew. During the interview the attacker approached the man.

Later interviews with neighbors made it clear that this guy lived in the same building and had some slightly odd and creepy behavior patterns. When he interrupted the interview he was apologizing to the man and telling him he had no excuse for his actions. Of course he followed that with his excuses. He is Chinese and complained about how stressful it is for a foreigner to live in Japan. While I could sympathize with him on many points, I choose not to take out my stress by inflicting potentially fatal wounds on my neighbors.

The victim’s reaction was pretty amusing as well. He started to argue with the guy and chastise him. I’m thinking my first reaction would be to step away; and my second, to call the police. Perhaps I didn’t catch something in the broadcasts, but I don’t think they mentioned whether the Chinese man was arrested or not. Wackiness!

2 Responses to “Tough Being a Foreigner”

  1. sunkissd1 Says:

    Strange how people react in such situations, isn’t it? I really wonder about people sometimes.

  2. びっくり Says:

    I wonder about people all the time. This is probably why I spend so much time confused and get little done. Over the past two weeks they have had lots of shows on the tube about top 100 strange (popular, exciting, …) stories of the year. There were a lot of stories stranger than this one.

Leave a Reply

