Until The New Year?

by

Time to challenge myself again. Strange things and bad things stand out, so I find myself plugging a lot of that into my blog. Fearing that readers might get the mistaken impression that Japan is an awful and strange place, or that I don’t like it here; I need to make sure I drop some good stuff in.

Just before my last vacation I tried to write only the good stuff for a week. (And I almost made it, too.) Another benefit of this is how it helps me remember the good stuff and keep a positive outlook.

So, to start things off: my office is a great place. Everyone here works a lot harder than me, but they never treat me like a sloth that is beneath them. While they are very serious about their work and often have to work overtime, they always make time for joviality and breaks. Whenever I need advice on language or culture they are quick to assist me; sometimes setting aside important work to put me first. When they had to rearrange the office I got put in the lowest (or second lowest) seating position – as expected – but it puts me in close proximity to two pleasant young ladies.

I find it much easier to do any studying, thinking, reading, or class prep here than at the school office. When I start my new school I will definitely miss this place.

Finally, whatever things are true, whatever things are honest, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think about these things.

すべての真実なこと、すべての誉れあること、すべての正しいこと、すべての清いこと、すべての愛すべきこと、すべての評判の良いこと、そのほか徳と言われること、称賛に値することがあるならば、そのようなことに心を留めなさい。

2 Responses to “Until The New Year?”

  1. Keven Says:

    I just enjoy hearing about it whether good or bad! 🙂 Good things happening are better for you of course, but I find it can be somewhat cathartic to get the bad feelings out of you and onto paper instead of holding them inside.

  2. びっくり Says:

    Yeah, catharsis is good. I just have to make sure I don’t focus on that stuff. It definitely was seeping into other areas. Also, leaving the bad stuff out entirely might be censorship. Don’t worry, I’ll keep the posts coming and some of it will be wacky.

    At last night’s party I saw two really wacky things in the bathroom. I put a memo in my cell phone to remind me to write about them later since they are not time critical.

Leave a Reply

