Level Eight

by

October 27th, at school, I took the Level 8 Japan Kanji Proficiency Examination (日本漢字能力検定) and today the results came back. There were eight sections to the test. I scored 100 percent on four of the sections. My score was short of the required 80 percent in one section, but overall I scored better than 88 percent.

The eighth grade Japanese teacher is in charge of test administration at the school. He very formally presented my certificates to me in the teachers’ office and everyone applauded. More people entered at the same time, so the applause continued and grew. It became a little embarassing at some point. After all, this just means I know the kanji taught in first through third grade in elementary school.

October 29th I took the level 7 exam at the public facility. I’m pretty sure I fell a few points shy of passing, but I expect to receive the official results from that in the next few days.

Studying for these tests has made a marked difference in the number of signs I can read. A tremendously liberating feeling.

2 Responses to “Level Eight”

  1. kevenker Says:

    Congratulations!! (yes, I’m a bit tardy reading your posts! — Sorry!! 🙂 )

  2. びっくり Says:

    Thanks. No need to apologize. You can read my posts whenever you want. 🙂 I hope you have recovered from your vacation.

Leave a Reply

