Beat

by

Friday I went to a Beaujoulais Nouveau party. About ten people I knew were there. They each wanted to introduce me to several more people. A lot of other people assumed I was French and enjoyed speaking French to me. A couple young patisserie employees had me translate a letter from a friend in France. When I won a prize they made me go up on the stage and give a speech, because I was the only foreigner there.

I’m not so well versed on Beaujoulais Nouveau, but I think there are rules about when it can be served. Japanese people love events that have a lot of rules to them, so every year these wine parties are a big deal. I think we stumbled upon one Wednesday night by accident. After dinner we stopped by a bar that serves a particular food, but at exactly 11:30pm they were going to start their party so we went home (being late on a work night, we were easily driven off.) I think 11:30pm Wednesday was the earliest allowed start time. Many Japanese people also like the fact that we are the earliest country (of any significant size) to be allowed to have a party.

I was already feeling pretty run down so I spent the weekend doing very little of significance: lots of sleeping, a little reading and DVD watching, and working on my latest rakkan. I finished Space Merchants but realized halfway through that I had read it before (a long time ago). Started reading The Good Earth. I suppose occasionally I should read something less than 50 years old.

One friend left a rabbit fur neck wrap at the party Friday and I took it home. She invited me to eat at her home Sunday night. I hope she forgets things at every party; a home cooked meal is a pretty good trade for returning something. Her husband is allegedly an excellent cook as well. Non-chan, who owns an English tea shop, joined us as well.

Today I taught about Thanksgiving to eighth graders. I am thankful my work is done for the day. Tonight I finally get some help writing an important letter in Japanese and get to sleep early (?).

4 Responses to “Beat”

  1. kevenker Says:

    You mention “important letter” and then leave us hanging? 🙂

  2. びっくり Says:

    Oh, sorry! I have a friend who is trying to get in contact with people in Japan. The letters need to be carefully worded and polite, so I have a special friend helping me with that. She had several trips and activities keeping her overly busy. Finally I got some of her time.

  3. Sunkissd1 Says:

    I was hoping it was a juicy love letter or perhaps something a tad scandalous…

  4. びっくり Says:

    Sorry to disappoint, but my life is rarely that exciting. Although, I had a date with four college girls on the 23rd…

Leave a Reply

