Weekend Synopsis

by

Unfortunately my pre-dated entry for November 3rd did not appear while I was gone. I gave it another kick today and it posted. Apparently I overloaded the software or something. My nerd side is urging me to troubleshoot this, by my practical side knows I have way to much on my plate already and they have 400,000 other users and a staff of programmers.

Short review of the weekend: left at 10pm Thursday and drove through the night. After arriving in the Oze (尾瀬) area of Fukushima Prefecture (福島県) we went for a hike to Oze Marsh. In the evening we enjoyed delicious food, relaxing hot springs, and friendly mountain town hospitality. Saturday and Sunday morning we stayed mostly in the Aizu (會津) and Kitakata (喜多方) areas. Our inn was built into the side of a cliff over a fast moving river. Sunday afternoon we drove, only stopping for gas, straight back. The mountain air was cool and fresh; and the weather was sunny and clear almost the whole time.

One main reason for the trip was to seek out Jizake (地酒) – special, locally-produced sake. It was very educational, but I only bought two bottles for gifts. While I do drink, I rarely keep alcohol at my home; and the brews were a little expensive for me to be giving them away to everyone. If you have particular interest in sake, please let me know before you visit and we can do little exploring.

I would post more, but over the long weekend a lot of things changed here and I have a full plate this week.

3 Responses to “Weekend Synopsis”

  1. kevenker Says:

    You are imitating the Intel commercial apparently. You mention “a lot of things changed here” and then that’s it!!! Where is the pitch? Where is the resolution? Inquiring minds want to know!!

  2. びっくり Says:

    Ack! I sounds almost like you want me to display some skill in composition. OK. I will put up some info… Check Tuesday and later for bits.

  3. Copping Out « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] Back on November 6th I posted a weekend synopsis on my trip to Fukushima. It ended with a statement that many things changed and no clarification. Two people gave me grief about it (which is probably two thirds of my regular readers according to my blog stats), so I posted more detail the next day. However, my clarifying post was really a cop out. […]

Leave a Reply

