I Made This

by

Our schools are very safe: we have so many filters and firewalls and screening tools that I can rarely make any educational use of the internet. After a week of trying, I finally succeeded in uploading an image of the work I wrote on washi (和紙), ‘Japanese handmade paper’, for Joli Mama. I am also having a little trouble with image rotation in Flickr, so I will throw a thumbnail in here that links to the rotated, full-size image.

Joliへ感謝It is not the best work, but it was very fun to write on this paper; the feeling of the brush moving over the paper was very different from cheap practice paper. Also, this paper is very strong, allowing for a variety of writing options.

Nijimi (滲み) is an effect using a brush fully charged with ink, in which the ink bleeds out into the paper. Kasure (掠れ) is the opposite effect when the brush is running dry, giving the strokes a wispy, dry, or cracked sense. Both effects can be used to express yourself in writing, but on cheap paper nijimi will practically disolve the paper, like using a cheap tissue to wipe up spilled Kool Aid. Likewise, a dry brush won’t move well on cheap paper, but washi, having a highly absorbent surface, will virtually beg the brush for more ink and hug it to itself.

I can’t wait to try some ‘real’ ink on the good paper. My greatest fear is that I will become addicted to the high-priced tools.

6 Responses to “I Made This”

  1. kat Says:

    Wow, Erik! That’s beautiful! Have you given it to Joli Mama yet? If so, what was her reaction?

  2. びっくり Says:

    I wrote this the night after she gave me the paper and immediately took it to her shop. I noticed after posting that the ink is still wet in the photo. The Joli’s were very happy to get it (or at least pretended to be.)

    This work has a few problems, but I was pleased with the overall strength. The first character is small and out of balance with the second character. My teacher commented on the mouth (a square shape) at the bottom left of the second character, saying it was too big and open. This is correct but I still felt the character was balanced. The biggest problems are in my signature on the left; which I find amusing.

  3. fightingwindmills Says:

    It’s neat to be able to see your avatar up close. Thanks for linking to this older post so I could see it. 🙂

  4. びっくり Says:

    Actually, I think you can click through to Flickr (on my more recent posts) and view all of the photos which I’ve uploaded. I try to have brief descriptions on all of them. Most of the uploaded photos have or will be shown in posts.

  5. fightingwindmills Says:

    Will do!

  6. A Real Piece of Work « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] my advancements; however, I’ve gotten comments about how I rarely post my work. (Like this fun work to test out “real paper”, or this sample from a gasenshi size work, or this gasenshi […]

Leave a Reply

