Frustrations

by

Today, many of the frustrations of teaching in a public school are hitting me at once. Japanese friends have mentioned that teachers have a lofty attitude about themselves relative to ‘normal’ citizens. Because of their desire to consider themselves special, most of them don’t treat their foreign, Assistant Language Teachers with respect. Students see this model and develop their behaviors from it.

I made a simple request to a teacher today, that she support me when I am asking the children to follow basic rules of etiquette. Her look seemed to say, “you expect me to elevate you.” She made no promises. This job is pretty bizarre in that I am pretty much given freedom, yet am not treated with respect. I have trouble resolving those two conditions in my mind.

Leave a Reply

