Bait and Switch

by

User interface design is one of the most important areas of computer programming. Interestingly enough, it also happens to be one of the weakest areas. Today I had a little run-in with a change in UI.

Making my previous post I was surprised that after clicking on “publish”, I was shown a screen asking me, “Are you sure you want to do that?” Naturally I assumed I had made some mistake and chose “No”, expecting to be returned to the editing page. Instead, all of my work was instantly lost.

Why someone would add a page that is more likely to hurt me than help me, I’m not sure. The consequence of accidentally publishing is minimal, but the consequence of lost data is not. Anyhow, just a minor annoyance in the grand scheme of things.

Leave a Reply

