Smoky Comes to Visit

by

For about nineteen years, Fritz and Fred were my sweet kitties. Both of them brought me much joy and it has been hard being without them here in Japan; however, on Sunday the 22nd a new kitty came to live with us. Another foreign national in Geino-cho collected a stray and couldn’t care for it, so we took him on.

We are calling him Smoky. His fur is two shades of gray and his eyes – although green – have an appearance of misty grayness. After we assigned the name, we realized he also has the tendency to vanish like smoke. Often we can hear his bell, but can’t find him anywhere. I uploaded six photos to this set in Flickr, please have a look. Here is one of the images for those of you who just want a peep.

Smoky Side 1

He had worms and eggs in his intestines, a fungal infection in his eyes, and an infection in his nose. All of these are fairly common in strays in Japan. We are giving him medicines now, but he seems pretty much healed now and has tons of energy.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Smoky Comes to Visit”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    Smoky is adorable! I love when they are kittens and so gawky and cute. I’m glad he has found such a good home.

  2. びっくり Says:

    Yes, gawky… I was sitting at my computer the other night with the little goofball rolling around on my lap. Because of the heat I was in a t-shirt and underpants. His butt fell off my lap and dragged him off after it. One set of front claws was stuck in the desktop and the other was stuck in my thigh. Fortunately I was heading for the shower anyhow so I could scrub out the wounds. Silly cat.

  3. fightingwindmills Says:

    I like his stripes. He’s very handsome! I hope you will enjoy having a cat. We now have 8.

  4. びっくり Says:

    We love Smoky. I wish he had a playmate so he would get in less trouble, but my wife likes to fight me on every step. It took years to get the first cat. I don’t think I want 8 cats though…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

